IETS MEMBER LOGIN   Login:   Password:   Retrieve login/password

Pioneer Award

Description of Pioneer Award

The Pioneer Award is bestowed by the International Embryo Transfer Society (IETS) to recognize individuals who have made seminal contributions to the development of embryo-based technologies.

Procedures for Award Nominations

Nominations are accepted on a yearly basis from members of IETS with a deadline of May 1. Nominations may be initiated by individual members, members of the Awards Committee, or the Board of Governors. A call for nominations will be made by email and publication in the newsletter in the spring of each year. Unless otherwise stated in the description of the award, nominees do not need to be members of IETS but must be willing to attend the awards ceremony in person unless their health precludes travel. Awards will be presented yearly provided deserving nominees are forthcoming. Selection will be made by an Awards Committee chaired by the Past-President of IETS and certified by the Board of Governors.

Pioneer Award Winners

1982 (inaugural award)R.O. Berry
1983M.C. Chang
1984L.E. Casida
1985L.E.A. Rowson
1986T. Sugie
1987E. J. Christopher Polge
1988A. L. McLaren and D. Mitchie
1989Charles G. Thibault
1990John D. Biggers
1991A. K. Tarkowski
1992R. L. Brinster
1993R. G. Edwards
1994N. W. Moore
1995C. R. Austin
1996W. K. Whitten
1997Suzanne Wintenberger-Torres
1998Ian Gordon
1999Robert Moor
2000R. Yanigamachi
2001Philip J. Dziuk
2002Robert H. Foote
2003Keith J. Betteridge
2004Benjamin G. Brackett
2005Steen Willadsen
2006Duane C. Kraemer
2007Akira Iritani
2008George E. Seidel, Jr.
2009Stanley P. Leibo
2010Reuben J. Mapletoft
2011Ian Wilmut
2012Oliver J. Ginther
2013Joachim Hahn
2014William W. Thatcher

Distinguished Service Award

This award was established by the Board of Governors in 1991. The primary purpose of this award is to provide recognition for those individuals who have provided outstanding leadership or service to the International Embryo Transfer Society or who have contributed in a significant manner to the achievement of the stated purposes of the Society as expressed in Article (2) of the IETS By-laws.

Article II -Purposes
Section 1. The Society shall further the science of embryo production, development and transfer by: (1) promoting more effective research; (2) disseminating scientific and educational information; (3) fostering high standards of education; (4) maintaining high standards of ethics; (5) enhancing the international movement of animal genetics with embryos; (6) coordinating standardization of embryo handling and record procedures internationally; and (7) cooperating with other organizations having similar objectives.

Distinguished Service Award Winners

1991W. C. Doug Hare
1992R. E. (Dick) Nelson
2000Reuben J. Mapletoft
2001George Seidel
2003Michel Thibier
2004Sarah Seidel
2005Tony Wrathall
2006Victor Shille
2007David Stringfellow
2008Richard Carmichael
2009Robert Wall
2010Irma Robertson
2011Torben Greve
2012Larry Delver
2013Andre Bielanski
2014John F. Hasler
IETS Membership

Please Call 217-398-4697 or email for assistance.

Unified Login for User Accounts
IETS has implemented the Unified Login technology to relieve members of having to remember multiple login/password combinations. Wherever you see the purple icon, you are able to use the same login information!