Pioneer Award

Description of Pioneer Award

The Pioneer Award is bestowed by the International Embryo Technology Society (IETS) to recognize individuals who have made seminal contributions to the development of embryo-based technologies.

The Pioneer award was designed and created by Lois Betteridge

Procedures for Award Nominations

Nominations are accepted on a yearly basis from members of IETS with a deadline of June 10. Nominations may be initiated by individual members, members of the Awards Committee, or the Board of Governors. A call for nominations will be made by email and publication in the newsletter in the spring of each year. Unless otherwise stated in the description of the award, nominees do not need to be members of IETS but must be willing to attend the awards ceremony in person unless their health precludes travel. Awards will be presented yearly provided deserving nominees are forthcoming. Selection will be made by an Awards Committee chaired by the President of IETS and certified by the Board of Governors.

Pioneer Award Winners

Year Winner  
1982 (inaugural award) R. O. Berry View  
1983 M. C. Chang  
1984 L. E. Casida  
1985 L. E. A. Rowson  
1986 T. Sugie  
1987 E. J. Christopher Polge  
1988 A. L. McLaren  
1988 D. Mitchie  
1989 Charles G. Thibault  
1990 John D. Biggers  
1991 A. K. Tarkowski  
1992 R. L. Brinster  
1993 R. G. Edwards  
1994 N. W. Moore  
1995 C. R. Austin  
1996 W. K. Whitten  
1997 Suzanne Wintenberger-Torres  
1998 Ian Gordon  
1999 Robert M. Moor View  
2000 Ryuzo Yanagimachi View  
2001 Philip J. Dziuk View  
2002 Robert H. Foote View  
2003 Keith J. Betteridge View  
2004 Benjamin G. Brackett View  
2005 Steen M. Willadsen View  
2006 Duane C. Kraemer View  
2007 Akira Iritani View  
2008 George E. Seidel, Jr. View  
2009 Stanley P. Leibo View  
2010 Reuben J. Mapletoft View  
2011 Ian Wilmut View  
2012 Oliver J. Ginther View  
2013 Joachim Hahn View  
2014 William W. Thatcher View  
2015 Jean Paul Renard View  
2015 Keith H. S. Campbell View  
2016 Charles Earle Pope View  
2017 Heiner Niemann View  
2018 David T. Armstrong View  
2018 Marc-AndrĂ© Sirard View  
2019 Barry Bavister View  
2020 Eric Palmer View  
2021 Award not Presented  
2022 Carol Keefer View  
2023 Enoch Borges de Oliveira Filho View  
2024 Edward Squires View