CSIRO Best Poster Competition

The IETS has established the CSIRO Best Poster Competition to encourage graduate students to attend and participate in the IETS annual conference. To enter the poster competition you must answer “yes” to the Best Poster Competition question (question #4 when submitting your abstract). You must be listed as first author for the competition.

The experimental data presented in the abstract must be original and must have been gathered during the student’s program. The individual entering the competition must have been a graduate student at some point during the calendar year immediately prior to the annual meeting.

The format must conform to the IETS guidelines for Preparation of Abstracts for Poster Presentation. Data presented in this abstract may not have been accepted for publication elsewhere, nor have been presented at any national or international meeting prior to the IETS annual conference. If a student has submitted a manuscript containing the same data that are the basis for the abstract submitted to the IETS and receives notification that the manuscript will be published prior to the time of the competition, the abstract submitted to the IETS must be withdrawn immediately and the student will not be eligible to compete at the IETS annual conference.

All graduate students participating in the CSIRO Best Poster Competition must send in a PDF of their poster by December 1, 2021. Those participants not submitting a PDF of their poster will be withdrawn from the competition.

At the IETS annual conference, the student finalists will be judged on the quality of their poster presentation. Judges will be representative IETS members appointed to the Education Committee of the IETS Foundation who have no conflicts of interest with respect to students in the competition. A first-place winner and two runners-up will be awarded a cash prize (US$350 and US$200, respectively) and an inscribed plaque.

Previous first-place award winners are not eligible to compete. To apply for this competition, simply check the appropriate box on the IETS Electronic Abstract Submission Form.

CSIRO Student Poster Competition Winners

Year Position Name
2021 Winner Noof Abdulrahman Al Rabiah
2021 Runner Up Paula Chen
2021 Runner Up Linkai Zhu
2020 Winner Iuri Viotti Perisse
2020 Runner Up Virginia Savy
2020 Runner Up Paula Chen
2019 Winner Chun Kuen Mak
2019 Runner Up Tsige Hailay Hagos
2019 Runner Up Claire Timlin
2018 Winner Ilaria Lavagi
2018 Runner Up Elena F. M. Manzoni
2018 Runner Up Na-Young Rho
2017 Winner Carlos Andres Pinzon
2017 Runner Up Jingyue Duan
2017 Runner Up Ricardo P. Nociti
2016 Winner Bethany Mordhorst
2016 Runner Up Ghassan M. Ishak
2016 Runner Up Marcia de Almeida Monteiro Melo Ferraz
2015 Winner Juan M. Reyes
2015 Runner Up Adrian De Stefano
2015 Runner Up Vincent Mauffre
2014 Winner Kyle B. Dobbs
2013 Winner Sergi Novo