Foundation Early Career Achievement Award

This award recognizes two individuals (one practitioner and one scientist) for their independent contributions towards advancing the field of embryo transfer and its associated technologies.


  1. Recognition during the IETS Annual Meeting. The award recipient will have the opportunity to give a presentation at the IETS meeting.
  2. Two years of complimentary IETS membership.
  3. Complimentary IETS meeting registration for the year of the award.
  4. Travel and lodging reimbursement to attend the Annual Meeting of the IETS.


  1. Candidates must have completed their final degree within the past 10 years at the time of nomination. Candidates who took maternity or paternity leave will be allowed an additional year of eligibility per instance of leave taken. Other special considerations will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.
  2. Candidates must be available to attend and give a presentation at the IETS Annual Meeting if they are selected as the award recipient.
  3. Awardees will have demonstrated independence on their program and a significant contribution to the embryo technology community.


A nomination letter from IETS members (no more than 2 pages) describing the contributions of the candidate towards advancing the field of embryo transfer and associated technologies, at least two letters of support, and the CV of the candidate need to be submitted to the IETS foundation by August 30th. No person can nominate more than one candidate for each of the awards (practitioner and scientist). Self-nominations are encouraged.

Selection Criteria

Awardees will be evaluated based on their work's impact on the embryo transfer/technology community.

Justification for the award

The objective for offering this award is to foster participation of young practitioners and scientists involved with our society and recognize their excellence at the annual meeting. Currently the society offers recognition of undergraduate and graduate students in the form of the Undergraduate Poster Competition, Student Research Competition, and Peter W. Farin Student Travel Scholarship Award. It also recognizes long-time members offering the Pioneer Award and Distinguished Service Award. This award (Early Career Achievement Award) is intended to fill the void in recognition between students and long-term established members.

Foundation Early Career Achievement Award Winners

Year Winner Occupation  
2021 Pablo Bermejo-Álvarez Scientist View  
2020 Joanna Maria Gonçalves de Souza-Fabjan Scientist View  
2019 Alejo Menchaca Scientist View  
2018 Kiho Lee Scientist View  
2017 Todd Stroud Practitioner View  
2017 Pablo J. Ross Scientist View