Undergraduate Poster Competition

The IETS Foundation has established an undergraduate poster competition to encourage undergraduates to attend and participate in the IETS annual conference. To enter the undergraduate competition, you must answer yes to the undergraduate competition question #5 and choose Undergraduate Poster Competition as your first section preference when submitting your abstract. You must also complete the Competition Entry form when you submit your abstract.

Presentation Format:

First Section Preference:
Undergraduate Poster Competition Finalists

The experimental data presented in the abstract must be original and must have been gathered during the student’s program. The individual entering the competition must have been an undergraduate student at some point during the calendar year immediately prior to the annual meeting for that competition. An individual student will be allowed to enter only one abstract per year, and that student must be the first author of that abstract. If an abstract is selected as a finalist, the student entering the competition with that abstract (the first author) shall present the poster at the annual meeting.

The format must conform to the IETS guidelines for Preparation of Abstracts for Poster Presentations. Data presented in this abstract may not have been accepted for publication elsewhere nor have been presented at any national or international meeting prior to the IETS annual conference. If a student has submitted a manuscript containing the same data that are the basis for the abstract submitted to the IETS and receives notification that the manuscript will be published before the time of the competition, the abstract submitted to the IETS must be withdrawn immediately, and the student will not be eligible to compete at the IETS annual conference. Entries are judged on the quality of the abstract, and no more than three will be chosen for further competition. These three finalists will receive complimentary registration to the annual meeting, where they will present their work in poster format. Travel grants of $1,000 each will be awarded to the three finalists for their travel to and from the IETS annual conference.

At the IETS annual conference, the student finalists will be judged on the quality of their poster presentation. Judges will be representative IETS members appointed to the Education Committee of the IETS Foundation who have no conflicts of interest with respect to students in the competition. A first-place winner and two runners-up will be awarded a cash prize (US$400 and US$200, respectively) and inscribed plaques. Undergraduate Poster Competition abstracts that are rejected by the program co-chairs must be withdrawn from the competition. However, apart from acceptability of the abstract, the Education Committee of the IETS Foundation makes all decisions regarding the Undergraduate Poster Competition. Students whose abstracts are not among the three selected for poster presentation are encouraged to attend the conference and present their data in the poster session. If your abstract is accepted but is not one of the three finalists, as an undergraduate student, you will receive a complimentary registration to the annual meeting. However, you will not receive a travel grant. If students do not plan to attend the conference, they must withdraw their abstracts from the proceedings before August 23, 2024.

Previous winners of this award are not eligible to compete. To apply for this competition, simply check the appropriate box on the IETS Electronic Abstract Submission Form and list the Undergraduate Poster Competition as the first choice for abstract section preference.

Undergraduate Poster Winners

Year Position Name
2024 Winner Andrea Carolina Carrillo Gomez
2024 Runner Up Ashton Dalton
2024 Runner Up Logan Thomason
2023 Winner Benjamin Cespedes Cortes
2023 Runner Up Nolan Kennedy
2022 Winner Lindsay Culpepper
2022 Runner Up Kimberly Sprungl
2022 Runner Up Daniela Saade-Rampolla
2021 Winner Inge Bertijn
2021 Runner Up João Vitor Alcantara Silva
2021 Runner Up Tine De Coster
2020 Winner Nithin K. Gupta
2020 Runner Up Christopher Andrae
2020 Runner Up Sarah Kamen
2019 Winner Allison Carothers
2019 Runner Up Kayla Carey
2019 Runner Up Thomas Bane
2018 Winner Samantha N. Lanjewar
2018 Runner Up Chelsea M. Dinndorf
2018 Runner Up Marissa A. Taylor
2018 Runner Up Mark B. Lewis
2017 Winner Nicole A. Lopez
2017 Runner Up Ashley R. Higginbotham
2017 Runner Up Kaitlyn Krautkramer
2016 Winner Samantha Johnson
2016 Runner Up Jacob Stewart
2015 Winner Mary von der Porten
2015 Runner Up Adrian De Stefano
2014 Winner Paige Hardin
2014 Runner Up Addison Byrne
2014 Runner Up Rodrigo Delbem Almeida